Fishing Lower Blue Lakes near Hope Valley

It seemed like the gate to Blue Lakes was never going to open for the season.  It finally did and I was able to make a trip to Lower Blue Lakes for some evening fishing.  Blue Lakes consists of the upper lake and lower lake and is located off of Highway 88 going towards Hope Valley.  There is a campground at Blue Lakes with activities that include boating, hiking, fishing and swimming.  I went there for the fishing!  Lower Blue Lakes is the smaller of the two lakes sitting at an elevation of about 8,200 feet above sea level.  The lake is mostly populated with Rainbow Trout.

Lower Blue LakesI’ve only fished the lower lake, but have had some pretty good success.  I decided to go out for a few hours of fishing last Friday.  It was a beautiful evening.  I got to the lake at about 7pm and fished until about 9pm as it was just starting to get dark.  I first moved to the dam side of the lake where I was fishing with a silver kastmasters.  In Tahoe, you can pick up a few of these lures at the Tahoe Fly Fishing Shop in South Lake Tahoe or Walmart.  After about 30-40 minutes, I switched over to a gold kastmasters.  Once I switched over I caught a small Rainbow.  About 45 minutes later, I again switched over to a bobber with a split shot and chartreuse power bait.  I caught another beautiful, small Rainbow.  Check out some footage of the trip below!

The drive to Blue Lakes is very pretty and easy.  You’ll want to follow Highway 50 through South Lake Tahoe towards Meyers.  Go through Meyers and make a left onto Highway 89 or Luther Pass.  Follow that until you reach a “T” and you’ll want to turn right onto Highway 88 or Carson Pass.  After you cross over the single lane bridge, not much further you will make a left onto Blue Lakes Road.  The lower lake is about 12 miles down this road.  Parking at the small lower lake parking lot is free.   Below are a few pictures of my trip Friday evening.  Enjoy!

Lower Blue Lakes

Lower Blue Lakes

Lower Blue Lakes

Lower Blue Lakes

I’ve always had pretty good success fishing Blue Lakes.  If you’re interested in camping at Blue Lakes, you can find more information from the Forest Service.  Have you fished Blue Lakes?  What’s one of your favorite lakes to fish in the Tahoe area?  Leave a comment below!  Also, follow me on twitter @sberei!

6 thoughts on “Fishing Lower Blue Lakes near Hope Valley

  1. Thanks again for the great information as always! Living in Reno it’s easy to forget about all the awesome areas south of Lake Tahoe, especially the lakes out that way. I haven’t fished there but I just got a rod and am looking to get out and explore some new places once I get all set up. Thanks again for the information and see you out there!

  2. Hi Stephen, I was raised at South Tahoe and left South Tahoe High in ’67. I now live in Carson City and have been camping at Blue Lakes about a dozen times over the years. I have fished there and caught rainbows on worms in both lakes. I always had a CA fishing license when there but have never seen a Game Warden or seen any signs saying a license is required. I was just wondering being that it is privately owned if a CA license is required? I have recently retired and am on a fixed income and cannot really afford a CA license anymore. I would appreciate any info you could give me. Thanks

Leave a Reply

