Discover Lake Tahoe’s Outdoor Offerings

Imagine after about a three hour hike, you finally reach the peak. You peer across the valleys and peaks and as your eyes comb the sky you see blue-green lakes until you finally see the largest blue-green lake you’ve ever seen. Yes, that’s Lake Tahoe. The night before, the decision was made by you and friends for a nice summer day hike rather than camping out for a night; although the option was there. It was either that, to go boating and relax on the beach or go for a three hour mountain bike; once again all options for a beautiful summer day in Tahoe. These are just the summer options.

I’d like to discuss a winter experience I recently had. About four weeks ago, two friends and I drove out towards a ski resort called Kirkwood. We stopped on Route 88 at the Red Lakes trailhead. I packed up my ski boots, skis, avalanche beacon, the rest of my gear and chucked my bag over my back. I put my snowshoes on and we headed to the backcountry. After about two hours of hiking, we made it to the top of the first peak. I took a few pictures, but as usual the pictures never do the amazing views in Tahoe justice. We continued to the next peak and when we reached the top, it was time to drop in. What an amazing first drop, with several more powder shots the further we went. What a breathtaking adventure.

There are so many outdoor activities one could participate in during the summer and winter months in Tahoe. First, the winter the options are endless such as snowmobiling, skiing and snowboarding or snowshoeing. There are about 12 ski resorts in the Tahoe region. The summer provides even more opportunity for activities such as camping, hiking, relaxing at the beach, biking or boating.

Most if not all of these activities do require some type of equipment however. Some equipment you may need include skis, snowboards, mountain bikes, backpacks or tents. Whatever the type of equipment, there are several stores throughout the Tahoe area where they can be purchased. Some of these stores include Tahoe Sports Ltd, The Village or Shoreline of Tahoe which recently opened another shop in the area.

I wanted to give you an overview of a few of the many outdoor activities, equipment available and stores where you can purchase equipment in Tahoe. I hope you continue to read my posts and take the exciting Al Fresco Tour of Tahoe with me where I will go into more detail. Ask yourself, how could you pass up the opportunity to learn more about the outdoors of one of the most amazing and beautiful places in the world?

Leave a comment